Swisscare insurance and Care Austria for a student permit in Austria: the published facts (2026)
Swisscare’s student plan for Austria in 2026 is ISIE, insured by Anker Insurance Company n.v.: emergency cover only, up to 12 months, entry age 18–59 (Swisscare terms 01-2026). On 1 November 2026 its online quote showed €197.10 to €312.10 for 365 days, paid in advance. Vienna’s and Linz’s insurer lists do not name Swisscare or Anker. Care Austria Education costs €56 a month in 2026, unlimited, 1-year minimum term (AVB § 3).
Care Austria vs Swisscare: the published facts side by side
The table uses the same criteria for both products. Care Austria facts come from Care Concept’s tariff page and policy terms (care-concept.de; AVB). Swisscare facts come from swisscare.com (Austria country page and ISIE product page) and its General Insurance Conditions ISIE-GIC-012026 and information document IPID01-2026, cited as text. The MA 35 row comes from the City of Vienna (wien.gv.at).
| Criterion | Care Austria | Swisscare (ISIE) |
|---|---|---|
| Sold by | Care Concept AG, Bonn | Swisscare Europe Ltd., Balzers (Liechtenstein), non-tied insurance broker, FMA register no. 189135 |
| Insurer | HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG) | Anker Insurance Company n.v., Groningen (Netherlands) |
| Product for students in Austria | Care Austria Education (unlimited, or 364-day with an extra MA 35 declaration); Care Austria Standard | “International student health insurance Europe” (ISIE), Standard, Comfort or Premium |
| Kind of cover | Health insurance in Austria; risks covered by the ÖGK count as covered (AVB § 15 general declaration) | “Emergency treatments only”; planned non-emergency treatment not covered |
| Published prices | Per month, 2026 — Education: €56 unlimited (1-year minimum term, AVB § 3); €51 364-day (extra MA 35 declaration) | One-off total for 365 days from 30 November 2026, online quote on 1 November 2026: €197.10 (Standard), €219.00 (Comfort), €312.10 (Premium); paid in advance; not an offer (forms.swisscare.com/#/isie) |
| Who can apply | Education 12–35; Standard unlimited 0–49, 50–64, 65–74; Standard 364-day 0–64, 65–74 (Care Concept’s labels) | Students, interns, au pairs, academics and researchers (Swisscare’s quote form); entry age 18 to 59 (terms § 1.3, as Swisscare states) |
| Contract term | Unlimited: ordinary cancellation first after 1 year, then only to 31 December with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3); 364-day tariffs up to 364 days (extra MA 35 declaration) | 1 day to 365 days on the website; maximum 12 months in the terms; no automatic renewal |
| Medical sum | Not found in our sources | Per event: €50,000 (Standard), €150,000 (Comfort), €500,000 (Premium) |
| Own share for medical treatment | None (AVB § 7); for pre-existing conditions see the “Pre-existing conditions” row (AVB § 9) | “No deductible for medical coverage” (website); €250 per claim for luggage and liability |
| Waiting periods | 31 days general, waived if bought before travel, within 31 days of entry or without a gap after comparable earlier cover, and for accidents after cover starts; 8 months for childbirth and dental prosthetics, to which these waivers do not apply (AVB § 7); for stays in Austria see AVB § 15 in the “Pregnancy and childbirth” row | No waiting-period clause found in the terms we read |
| Pre-existing conditions | Special rules (§ 9 and § 15 AVB): ask before you apply | Not insured (information document (IPID); terms § 1.15, § 4.9) |
| Pregnancy and childbirth | 8-month waiting period for childbirth (AVB § 7); a pregnancy that already exists when cover starts is excluded, except unforeseeable complications during the contract if the 36th week of pregnancy was not completed at the start (AVB § 8 Ziff. 1 k). During a stay in Austria, the insurer waives exclusions and waiting periods that conflict with ÖGK-level cover (AVB § 15): ask Care Concept in writing how this applies to you | Not insured (“Maternity & delivery”, IPID) |
| Payment | Monthly; SEPA direct debit or transfer (AVB) | Full premium in advance, by credit card or bank transfer |
| Area | Austria, and for acute treatment the other EU member states, except your home country or a state where you are socially insured (AVB § 6 Ziff. 1 b, § 7 I 1); temporary stays in Schengen states that are not EU members (except your home country) up to 30 days per insurance year, under the same written-report rule as home-country stays (AVB § 6 Ziff. 1 g); home-country stays up to 28 days per insurance year (14 days if the first insurance year, which ends on 31 December, is shorter than 4 months), only if each trip is reported in writing before departure, otherwise 50 % of the maximum costs (AVB § 6) | Worldwide outside the country of origin; USA territories and Canada excluded (IPID; terms § 1.11) |
| Vienna MA 35 page and Linz list | Care Concept AG listed; Care Austria and Education: no extra declaration; 364 versions: extra MA 35 declaration | Swisscare, Anker and Goudse not named (checked 1 November 2026); an unlisted insurer counts only if it signs the general extra declaration |
| Provider’s own statement on Austria | Care Concept states: “recognized by all municipalities and authorities in Austria (e.g. listed with MA 35 in Vienna)” (provider claim) | Austria page: “Valid for visa”; ISIE page: “Valid for those with a student visa” (provider claims) |
What does an Austrian student residence permit require from health insurance?
An Austrian student residence permit requires health insurance that covers all risks and pays in Austria. § 11 (2) 3 NAG requires it for every residence permit (RIS), and showing travel health insurance is “in any case not sufficient” (BMI). migration.gv.at mentions an exception only for a Red-White-Red Card application, with travel cover well above €30,000 incl. rescue and return costs, not for students (migration.gv.at). The City of Vienna adds that travel health insurance taken out for the entry visa is “nicht ausreichend” — not sufficient — for the permit application (wien.gv.at). A first student permit has one exception. OeAD says a written statement that ÖGK student insurance will be taken out after entry can be attached, and travel health insurance is then sufficient only until that cover can start (OeAD); ask your residence authority before you rely on it.
For a policy that is not on its list, Vienna’s MA 35 sets one condition. The insurer must accept and sign the allgemeine Zusatzerklärung (general extra declaration), word for word, and the cover must essentially match Austrian statutory insurance. The table compares the declaration’s points with what Swisscare’s published ISIE terms say. Whether Anker would sign the declaration is not published.
| The general declaration says (wien.gv.at) | Swisscare ISIE terms as published |
|---|---|
| Cover agreed with the scope the ÖGK (Austrian Health Insurance Fund) offers | Emergency treatment of sudden illness or accident; planned treatment not covered (§ 2.5) |
| All health risks covered by the ÖGK count as covered | Excludes pre-existing conditions, maternity, psychiatric conditions, epidemics (with a separate COVID-19 rule) and high-risk sports (§ 2.18, § 4.9; IPID) |
| No waiting periods or end dates for benefits | No waiting-period clause found; contract ends after at most 12 months, no automatic renewal (§ 2.3) |
| Caps and own shares only at the level of the ÖGK | Sums capped per event (€50,000 to €500,000); dental emergency €300 to €1,000 |
| Signed by the insurer and taken into the contract | Not found — ask Swisscare whether Anker signs it |
Our separate guide MA 35 extra declaration explains the declarations; the permit itself is on student residence permit and health insurance for a residence permit.
Is Swisscare on Vienna’s MA 35 list of health insurers?
Swisscare is not on Vienna’s MA 35 list. The City of Vienna’s page for residence-permit health insurance names 11 insurers, and neither Swisscare, Swisscare Europe, Anker nor Goudse is among them (wien.gv.at, no date on the page, full text searched 31 October 2026 and again on 1 November 2026). The Magistrat Linz insurer list (PDF, “Stand: 12.12.2025”) names the same insurers and does not name Swisscare, Anker or Goudse either (linz.at, searched 1 November 2026).
Both cities describe one route for an insurer that is not listed. In Vienna, if your insurer accepts and signs the general extra declaration (allgemeine Zusatzerklärung), your health insurance is sufficient, also when the insurer is not on the list, and the declaration “muss genau so in Ihren Vertrag … übernommen werden”, meaning it must be copied exactly into your contract (wien.gv.at). In Linz, you may take out another private insurance, but it must contain the general extra declaration (linz.at). Swisscare publishes no statement that Anker signs it (swisscare.com, checked 1 November 2026).
| # | Insurer as named by wien.gv.at |
|---|---|
| 1 | Aetna Insurance Company |
| 2 | Allianz Elementar Versicherungs-AG |
| 3 | Allianz Worldwide Care |
| 4 | Care Concept AG |
| 5 | Cigna |
| 6 | DONAU-Versicherung |
| 7 | Expat & Co |
| 8 | Generali |
| 9 | INTER Krankenversicherung AG |
| 10 | UNIQA |
| 11 | Wiener Städtische |
Care Concept AG is on Vienna's MA 35 list: unlimited Care Austria tariffs need no extra declaration, 364-day ones do (checked 31 October 2026). This list is Vienna’s MA 35. Outside Vienna, ask the authority handling your application which insurance documents it requires. The office itself is explained on MA 35 Vienna in English.
What does Swisscare student insurance cover in Austria?
Swisscare ISIE covers emergency treatment of sudden illness and accidents outside your country of origin, plus assistance, luggage, liability and accident capital, up to the sums of the level you choose (ISIE-GIC-012026, benefits list). The maximum medical sum of Swisscare ISIE is €50,000 to €500,000 per event, depending on the level (ISIE-GIC-012026, valid from 01.2026). The terms also state that the policy does not replace participation in a state-run or local health insurance scheme, and that it pays only after other insurance or social security (§ 2.10).
| Benefit | Standard | Comfort | Premium |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical expenses, maximum per event | €50,000 | €150,000 | €500,000 |
| Hospital room | Semi-private | Semi-private | Semi-private |
| Rehabilitation | €1,000 | €2,000 | €3,000 |
| Emergency dental treatment per event | €300 | €500 | €1,000 |
| Medical assistance, maximum per event (within it: evacuation €150,000, repatriation €50,000) | €250,000 | €250,000 | €250,000 |
| Third-party liability (property damage €100,000) | €500,000 | €500,000 | €500,000 |
According to the information document, pre-existing conditions, maternity and delivery, non-emergency treatments and high-risk sports are not insured. Outpatient bills are paid by you first and claimed back, with documents in English (§ 2.12). Swisscare’s Austria page says that students staying 6 months or more need the student residence permit and can request enrolment in Austrian national health insurance; Swisscare describes ISIE as cover for medical costs until that registration, and for treatments the national insurance does not cover (swisscare.com, checked 31 October 2026). The ÖGK student self-insurance costs €78.84 a month in 2026 and needs residence in Austria (ÖGK). Vienna says ÖGK self-insurance replaces private cover only if it has no waiting period; otherwise the waiting period must be bridged with private insurance (wien.gv.at). For a first student permit, OeAD says a written statement that ÖGK student insurance will be taken out after entry can be attached to the application, and travel health insurance is then sufficient only until that cover can start (OeAD); ask your residence authority before you rely on it. ÖGK student insurance has the details.
What does Swisscare insurance cost for a student in Austria?
As of 1 November 2026, Swisscare’s online quote showed €197.10 (Standard, €50,000), €219.00 (Comfort, €150,000) and €312.10 (Premium, €500,000) for 365 days of study in Austria from 30 November 2026 — one-off totals paid in advance, not an offer; age is asked only in the next step. The figures come from Swisscare’s quote form (forms.swisscare.com/#/isie, read 1 November 2026), where we entered only dates and countries, no personal data.
| Level | Maximum medical sum per event | Total for 365 days, paid in advance |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | €50,000 | €197.10 |
| Comfort | €150,000 | €219.00 |
| Premium | €500,000 | €312.10 |
The quote step asks only for the start and end date, your country of origin and the country of study; the totals were the same for origin Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Germany and the United States. Age is asked only in the next step, so whether your age changes the price was not checked. As for who can buy ISIE, Swisscare’s form names students, interns, au pairs, academics and researchers, and Swisscare states a maximum entry age of 59 (minimum 18; terms § 1.3). The terms require the full premium to be paid in advance, before departure (§ 2.6). For people outside that group, Swisscare sells a separate product, “International Essential Medical Insurance”, for ages 18–49.
Before you buy, ask Swisscare in writing
- Will Anker sign Vienna’s general extra declaration word for word, so that it is copied into your contract?
- Does the cover last as long as your permit, including the renewal after 12 months?
- Is your age or a pre-existing condition a problem?
Keep the answers with your application papers. The same questions apply to any insurer that is not on your authority’s list.
What does Care Austria cost for students in 2026?
Care Austria Education costs €56 a month unlimited for ages 12–35 in 2026, minimum term 1 year (AVB § 3). Care Concept publishes a fixed price per age band and term, and your age for the premium is the calendar year in which cover starts minus your year of birth (care-concept.de; AVB). After that, age is the current calendar year minus your year of birth: unlimited Standard moves to the next band from 1 January of the year you turn 50 or 65, Standard 364 from 1 January of the year you turn 65, and Education has no band change, but if you turn 36 during the contract, cover continues under Standard (AVB § 1).
| Tariff | Age band | Term | Per month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Care Austria Education | 12–35 | Unlimited, minimum 1 year (AVB § 3) | €56 |
| Care Austria Education 364 | 12–35 | Up to 364 days, extra MA 35 declaration | €51 |
| Care Austria Standard | 0–49 | Unlimited, minimum 1 year (AVB § 3) | €155 (€187 from 2028) |
| Care Austria Standard 364 | 0–64 | Up to 364 days, extra MA 35 declaration | €95 |
Care Austria lists all tariffs, limits and documents. The company behind it is described on Care Concept insurance, and Care Austria vs FeelSafe is another side-by-side page.
How do the contract terms of Swisscare and Care Austria differ?
The contract terms of Swisscare ISIE and Care Austria differ first in length. The maximum contract duration of Swisscare ISIE is 12 months (ISIE-GIC-012026 § 2.3, valid from 01.2026), a fixed-period contract that, according to its information document, cannot be cancelled after its start date (the product FAQ mentions an exception with an official visa refusal); Care Austria unlimited runs until cancelled, with a 1-year minimum term, and after that it can be cancelled only to 31 December with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3).
| Situation | Care Austria (unlimited) | Swisscare ISIE |
|---|---|---|
| Start of cover | Not before entry into Austria; apply before the trip or within 1 year of entry, later only with proof of continuous earlier cover (AVB § 2) | Start date on the policy, at the earliest once the premium is fully paid (information document (IPID)) |
| Normal end | Ordinary cancellation first after 1 year, then to the end of each insurance year (31 December) with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3) | Ends on the last date of the policy; a new contract is needed to continue (IPID) |
| Withdrawal | 14 days without reasons, counted from taking out the contract and receiving its documents (AVB withdrawal notice) | 14 days from online purchase, if no claim was made (§ 2.7) |
| Visa refused | Not stated in our sources; withdrawal within 14 days | Refund before the start date with the official refusal letter (§ 2.7) |
| After the start date | Contract ends when you leave Austria for good (AVB § 6) | “cannot cancel it” (IPID); no refund (Swisscare’s product FAQ mentions an exception with an official visa refusal; ask in writing) |
| Permanent residence (Daueraufenthalt EU) | Ends automatically (wien.gv.at); also with another unlimited permit (AVB § 6); for the Daueraufenthalt EU application Vienna requires another insurance (wien.gv.at) | Not stated |
| Proof required | Not stated in our sources | Proof of enrolment and visa or residence permit required (GIC § 2.4) |
What can a student check before buying permit insurance?
A student can check five published facts for any permit insurance before paying. The list applies to both products and is not a ranking.
Students from South Asia can read the route on Austria visa from Bangladesh, Austria visa from Pakistan, Austria visa from India, Austria student visa and study in Austria; all student cover options are on student health insurance in Austria.
Worked example: what each provider publishes for a 26-year-old master’s student from Bangladesh
Illustrative example: Rahim, born in 2000, has a master’s place in Vienna and needs insurance for his first “Residence Permit – Student”. Bangladeshi citizens need a visa for Austria, and the permit needs cover for all risks that pays in Austria (§ 11 NAG). For cover starting in 2026, Care Austria’s published table shows Care Austria Education unlimited (2026 − 2000 = 26, inside the 12–35 band), €56 a month in 2026, minimum term 1 year and cancellation only to 31 December (AVB § 3), so at least €672 in the first year; no extra MA 35 declaration. At Swisscare he finds ISIE, whose entry age of 18–59 fits him. It is emergency cover for at most 12 months, paid in full in advance, and on 1 November 2026 Swisscare’s online quote showed €197.10 (Standard) to €312.10 (Premium) for 365 days. Swisscare and Anker are not on Vienna’s list, so he would need Anker’s signed general declaration. We did not find it in Swisscare’s published pages or terms, so he asks Swisscare in writing (box above). For both, he asks in writing about any pre-existing condition. The choice is his; this page does not suggest one.
If you decide on Care Austria
- Care Austria Education: €56 a month unlimited (ages 12–35, 2026), minimum term 1 year (AVB § 3)
- 364-day version: €51 a month, extra MA 35 declaration
- Care Concept AG is on Vienna's MA 35 list: unlimited Care Austria tariffs need no extra declaration, 364-day ones do (checked 31 October 2026)
Sold by Care Concept AG; insurer HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG). Read the full plan and limits first.
Care Austria application checklist
Go to Care Concept’s application
We earn a commission only on Care Austria, at no extra cost to you; we receive nothing from Swisscare (how we are paid).
Frequently asked questions
Which insurance company is behind Swisscare student insurance in Austria?
Swisscare’s Austria plan ISIE is insured by Anker Insurance Company n.v. in Groningen, the Netherlands. Swisscare’s product page states that “The insurer is Anker Verzekeringen n.v.”, registered with the Dutch AFM and authorised by De Nederlandsche Bank; the seller is Swisscare Europe Ltd. in Balzers, Liechtenstein, registered as a non-tied insurance broker, FMA register no. 189135 (swisscare.com, checked 31 October 2026). Claims go to De Goudse Verzekeringen (Swisscare ISIE terms 01-2026). For comparison: Care Austria is sold by Care Concept AG; its insurer is HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG) (Care Austria AVB).
Is Swisscare insurance valid for an Austrian student residence permit?
No Austrian authority source we found says that Swisscare insurance is valid for an Austrian student residence permit. Swisscare’s Austria page says “Valid for visa”, and its terms describe emergency cover for up to 12 months (swisscare.com, checked 31 October 2026). Vienna’s MA 35 page and the Linz insurer list do not name Swisscare, Anker or Goudse (checked 1 November 2026); both cities say an unlisted insurer counts only if it signs the general extra declaration, which is copied word for word into the contract (wien.gv.at; linz.at). Separately, BMI states that travel health insurance is “in any case not sufficient” for a permit (BMI); migration.gv.at mentions an exception only for a Red-White-Red Card application, with travel cover well above €30,000 incl. rescue and return costs (migration.gv.at); for a first student permit, OeAD names one option: a written statement that ÖGK student insurance will be taken out after entry, with travel health insurance only until then (OeAD) — ask your residence authority. Swisscare’s Austria page describes ISIE as needed for the travel visa and for medical costs until you are registered with Austrian national health insurance (swisscare.com/en/country/austria, checked 31 October 2026). Ask Swisscare in writing whether Anker signs that declaration.
How much does Swisscare student insurance cost for a year in Austria?
As of 1 November 2026, Swisscare’s online quote showed €197.10 (Standard, €50,000), €219.00 (Comfort, €150,000) and €312.10 (Premium, €500,000) for 365 days of study in Austria from 30 November 2026 — one-off totals paid in advance, not an offer; age is asked only in the next step (Swisscare quote form, https://forms.swisscare.com/#/isie, read 1 November 2026). Swisscare’s form names students, interns, au pairs, academics and researchers as the target group, and its terms set a maximum entry age of 59 (Swisscare ISIE terms 01-2026, § 1.3). Care Austria Education costs €56 a month unlimited in 2026, minimum term 1 year (AVB § 3) (care-concept.de).
Does Swisscare student insurance pay for pre-existing conditions?
No, Swisscare student insurance does not pay for pre-existing conditions according to its terms: the information document lists “Pre-existing conditions” under “What is Not insured”, and the terms define them as conditions that existed at application or in the 6 months before the start date, diagnosed or not (Swisscare ISIE terms 01-2026, § 1.15 and § 4.9). Maternity and delivery, and conditions of psychiatric origin, are also excluded. Care Austria has special rules on pre-existing conditions in § 9 and § 15 of its AVB — ask before you apply and keep the answer in writing.
Can I cancel Swisscare student insurance after it has started?
No, Swisscare student insurance cannot be cancelled after it has started, according to the published terms: the information document says you take the insurance out for a fixed period “and therefore cannot cancel it”. Before the start date, a refund is possible with official proof such as a visa refusal letter, and there is a 14-day withdrawal right from the online purchase if no claim was made (Swisscare ISIE terms 01-2026, § 2.7). Care Austria unlimited can be cancelled ordinarily first after 1 year, then only to the end of each insurance year (31 December) with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3).
Is “Swisscare student insurance” the same product in Switzerland and Austria?
No, Swisscare student insurance is not the same product in Switzerland and Austria. Swisscare lists separate student plans by country: HMIE and SPSS for Switzerland and Liechtenstein, and its own plans for Germany, Latvia, Lithuania and Spain. For Austria, Swisscare’s “Europe (others)” plan applies: “International student health insurance Europe” (ISIE), whose product page lists Austria among its countries (swisscare.com, checked 31 October 2026). Facts about Swisscare’s Swiss plans do not apply to a student in Austria.
What are the age limits of Swisscare ISIE and Care Austria Education?
Swisscare ISIE: minimum entry age 18, maximum entry age 59 (Swisscare ISIE terms 01-2026, § 1.3). Care Austria Education: ages 12–35, counted as the calendar year in which cover starts minus the year of birth, €56 a month unlimited in 2026 (minimum term 1 year, AVB § 3), or €51 for the 364-day version, which needs an extra MA 35 declaration (care-concept.de).
Official sources and provider documents
- City of Vienna (MA 35): accepted private health insurance for residence permits, with the insurer list, the general extra declaration and the rule that travel insurance taken out for the visa is not sufficient (exceptions in the next line); no date on the page, checked 31 October 2026
- § 11 NAG (RIS) and BMI: residence and health insurance, on all-risk cover and why travel insurance is not sufficient (exception for a Red-White-Red Card application only, with travel cover well above €30,000 incl. rescue and return costs: migration.gv.at FAQ; first student permit: OeAD)
- ÖGK: student self-insurance
- Care Concept: Care Austria tariff page and Care Austria policy terms (AVB)
- Swisscare (provider documents, cited as text): swisscare.com country page “International student health insurance Austria”; product page “International student health insurance Europe”; General Insurance Conditions ISIE-GIC-012026 (valid from 01.2026) and information document IPID01-2026 (Anker Insurance Company n.v.; the IPID calls the product “International student insurance Europe”), read 31 October 2026; ISIE quote form forms.swisscare.com/#/isie, read 1 November 2026
- Magistrat Linz: insurer list for residence permits (PDF, Stand 12.12.2025), which does not name Swisscare, Anker or Goudse and asks for the general extra declaration from other insurers; searched 1 November 2026
Our editorial standards and about this site pages explain how we work. This page lists published facts for information only; it is not insurance, legal or immigration advice and makes no recommendation. Prices and terms can change — check the provider’s current documents before you sign. We earn a commission only on Care Austria, from Care Concept AG, at no extra cost to you (affiliate disclosure).
Care Austria Education: price and terms
If you decide on Care Austria, check its published price for your age band and the 1-year minimum term first. We earn a commission only on Care Austria; we receive nothing from Swisscare.
Referral link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (how we are paid).
age 12–35: €56/month in 2026 · unlimited, min. 1 year (AVB § 3)
Referral link: we may earn a commission (disclosure)Apply