FeelSafe insurance and Care Austria: published prices, ages and terms side by side (2026)

Quick answer

In 2026, FeelSafe insurance in Austria is provided by UNIQA; Care Austria is sold by Care Concept AG, insurer HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG). On 30 October 2026 FeelSafe’s homepage showed €77.75 to €217.61 a month, each “Price depends on age”, with a 3-year contract time. Care Austria’s unlimited tariffs cost €56 to €510 a month in 2026 by age band, with a 1-year minimum term (AVB § 3); unlimited Standard prices rise on 1 January 2028 (AVB § 5).

As of 30 October 2026: FeelSafe homepage prices €77.75–€217.61 a month, each “Price depends on age”; Care Austria unlimited tariffs fixed by age band, €56–€510 a month (2026), 1-year minimum term (AVB § 3), Standard prices rising on 1 January 2028 (AVB § 5). FeelSafe: general contract time 3 years. Vienna’s MA 35 page names UNIQA and Care Concept AG, not FeelSafe (wien.gv.at).
How to read this page: we list what each provider publishes, in alphabetical order, with the date we checked it (30 October 2026). We do not rank, score or recommend either product, and this is not insurance advice. We earn a commission only on Care Austria; we receive nothing from FeelSafe. Facts we could not find are marked “we found no …” or “not stated”. Corrections: contact.

Care Austria vs FeelSafe: the published facts side by side

The table uses the same criteria for both products. Care Austria facts come from Care Concept’s tariff page and policy terms (care-concept.de; AVB). FeelSafe facts come from feelsafe.at’s homepage, product pages, cancellation page and terms PDFs (December 2025), cited as text. The MA 35 row is from the City of Vienna (wien.gv.at).

Care Austria and FeelSafe: published facts, 2026 (sources: care-concept.de tariff page and AVB; feelsafe.at pages and terms, December 2025; wien.gv.at; checked 30 October 2026; alphabetical, no ranking)
CriterionCare AustriaFeelSafe
Sold byCare Concept AG, BonnFeelSafe (feelsafe.at)
InsurerHanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG)UNIQA (“The insurance is provided by UNIQA”)
Tariff namesCare Austria Education, Care Austria Standard (each unlimited or 364-day)Students, Students Premium, Academics, Free movers, 35+; tariff QEXPYC 3 2024/B or /S (“Expatriates Gold”)
Published monthly pricesUnlimited tariffs fixed by age band: €56 to €510, 1-year minimum term (AVB § 3), Standard prices rising on 1 January 2028 (AVB § 5); 364-day tariffs from €51 (extra MA 35 declaration); 2026, table below€77.75 to €217.61 on the homepage, each “Price depends on age”; exact price after entering a date of birth
Age groupsEducation 12–35 (unlimited and 364-day); Standard unlimited 0–49, 50–64, 65–74; Standard 364-day 0–64, 65–74 (Care Concept’s labels)Students, Academics, Free movers: under 35; 35+: over 35
Maximum ageMaximum new-entry age not clear in the documents (marketing and terms differ) — ask Care Concept AGStudents: “Maximum age: 35”; 35+: “Maximum age: 65”
Contract termUnlimited: ordinary cancellation first after 1 year, then only to 31 December with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3); 364-day tariffs up to 364 days“The general contract time is 3 years”; monthly cancellation for listed reasons
General waiting period31 days, waived if bought before travel, within 31 days of entry or without a gap after comparable earlier cover, and for accidents after cover starts; these waivers do not apply to the 8-month waits (AVB; for stays in Austria see § 15 in the next row)“The general waiting period does not apply” (terms, December 2025)
Special waiting periods8 months: childbirth, dental prosthetics (AVB § 7); the AVB § 15 general declaration waives waiting periods that do not fit ÖGK-level cover in Austria, but Care Concept AG has not confirmed to us how that applies here, so ask it in writing before you apply8 months: dental services (except pain relief, first aid after accidents), childbirth and pregnancy
Own share for normal treatmentNone (AVB § 7)Hospital without UNIQA’s SOS service: 20 %, max. €5,290 per stay (terms); other own shares not checked
Annual maximumWe found no annual maximum in our sources€3,528,000 per calendar year (terms)
Start of coverNot before entry into Austria; apply before the trip or within 1 year of entry, later only with proof of continuous earlier cover (AVB)Always the 1st of a month; current month or up to 3 months ahead
PaymentMonthly; SEPA direct debit or transfer (AVB)Monthly direct debit; needs a SEPA bank account and an address in Austria
AreaAustria, and for acute treatment the other EU member states, except your home country or a state where you are socially insured (AVB § 6 Ziff. 1 b, § 7 I 1); temporary stays in Schengen states that are not EU members (except your home country) up to 30 days per insurance year, under the same written-report rule as home-country stays below (AVB § 6 Ziff. 1 g); home-country stays up to 28 days per insurance year (14 days if the first insurance year, which ends on 31 December, is shorter than 4 months), only if each trip is reported in writing before departure, otherwise 50 % of the maximum costs (AVB § 6)“Valid all over Europe (except Switzerland)” (product page; any limits in the terms not recorded)
Vienna MA 35 pageCare Concept AG listed; Care Austria and Education: no extra declaration; 364 versions: extra declarationFeelSafe not named; UNIQA listed, its “Expatriates Gold” tariffs (versions 3 2026/B and /S) with a required extra declaration
Provider’s own statement on permitsCare Concept states: “recognized by all municipalities and authorities in Austria (e.g. listed with MA 35 in Vienna)” (provider claim)“Valid for your MA 35 (or any other ministry) visa and residence permit!” (provider claim)
Pre-existing conditionsSpecial rules in the terms (§ 9 and § 15 AVB): ask before you applyWe found no statement on the pages we read: ask before you apply
Scheduled premium changesUnlimited Standard steps on 1 January 2028 (AVB § 5)We found no scheduled premium changes on the pages we read
Ends with Daueraufenthalt EUYes, automatically (wien.gv.at); also with another unlimited permit (AVB § 6); for the Daueraufenthalt EU application Vienna requires another insurance (wien.gv.at)Not stated

What does FeelSafe insurance cost in 2026?

FeelSafe’s homepage shows monthly prices of €77.75 (FeelSafe Students) to €217.61 (FeelSafe 35+), each marked “Price depends on age”, so your own price can differ (feelsafe.at, checked 30 October 2026). The homepage shows one monthly price per product. The product pages show no price table; they calculate the price after you enter a date of birth (feelsafe.at, checked 30 October 2026). We found no published age bands behind these figures.

FeelSafe health products and monthly prices, 2026 (source: feelsafe.at homepage; checked 30 October 2026)
ProductWho it is for (FeelSafe’s wording)Price shown per month
FeelSafe 35+Over 35: students, language students, researchers, lecturers, au-pairs, volunteers, job seekers, trainees€217.61, “Price depends on age”
FeelSafe AcademicsUnder 35: students with less than 4 ECTS, language school students, researchers and lecturers€99.78, “Price depends on age”
FeelSafe Free moversUnder 35: job seekers, trainees, volunteers, au-pairs€99.78, “Price depends on age”
FeelSafe StudentsUnder 35: students with min. 4 ECTS, pupils€77.75, “Price depends on age”
FeelSafe Students PremiumTariff QEXPYC 3 2024/S (FeelSafe’s description not recorded)€125.09, “Price depends on age”

On the product pages, the figures €78.84 and €526.79 appear in the “Public Insurance” comparison column. They are not FeelSafe prices. The current ÖGK figures are €78.84 a month for student self-insurance and €565.25 a month for general self-insurance in 2026 (ÖGK self-insurance). Both need residence in Austria, and general self-insurance pays benefits only after a 6-month waiting period unless waived. All student options are on student health insurance in Austria. FeelSafe also sells a travel product, FeelSafe EU Entry, at €2.99 a day for stays under 6 months; travel insurance is “in any case not sufficient” for a residence permit (BMI, our translation). Two exceptions are stated. For a Red-White-Red Card application, migration.gv.at says the authorities “will accept travel health insurance, provided it covers costs well above € 30,000”, incl. rescue and return costs, at application (migration.gv.at). For a first student permit, OeAD says travel insurance is “only sufficient” until ÖGK student insurance can be taken out after entry, with a written statement attached (OeAD; ask your residence authority whether it accepts this).

What does Care Austria cost in 2026?

Care Austria costs €56 to €510 a month for its unlimited tariffs in 2026 (Care Concept AG tariff page, 2026), each with a 1-year minimum term (AVB § 3); the Standard unlimited prices rise on 1 January 2028 (AVB § 5). Care Austria publishes a fixed monthly price for each age band and term. Care Austria counts your age as the current calendar year minus your year of birth, so cover that starts in 2027 is first priced by your age in 2027 (care-concept.de; AVB). After that, unlimited Standard moves to the next band from 1 January of the year you turn 50 or 65 and Standard 364 from 1 January of the year you turn 65; Education has no band change, but if you turn 36 during the contract, cover continues under Standard (AVB § 1).

Care Austria monthly prices, 2026 (source: Care Concept AG on care-concept.de; checked 30 October 2026); unlimited tariffs: 1-year minimum term (AVB § 3); Standard unlimited: 2028 step (AVB § 5)
TariffAge bandTermPer month
Care Austria Education12–35Unlimited; minimum term 1 year (AVB § 3)€56
Care Austria Education 36412–35Up to 364 days, extra MA 35 declaration€51
Care Austria Standard0–49Unlimited; minimum term 1 year (AVB § 3)€155 (€187 from 2028)
Care Austria Standard50–64Unlimited; minimum term 1 year (AVB § 3)€222 (€268 from 2028)
Care Austria Standard65–74Unlimited; minimum term 1 year (AVB § 3)€510 (€617 from 2028)
Care Austria Standard 3640–64Up to 364 days, extra MA 35 declaration€95
Care Austria Standard 36465–74Up to 364 days, extra MA 35 declaration€219

The unlimited tariffs have a minimum term of 1 year (AVB § 3). Care Austria plan details lists every Care Austria tariff with its age band, plus the 2028 price step for unlimited Standard. Full limits, documents and the application are on Care Austria, and the company behind it is described on Care Concept insurance.

Is UNIQA FeelSafe the same as UNIQA health insurance in Austria?

FeelSafe sells UNIQA tariffs under its own product names, while UNIQA health insurance in Austria also includes tariffs FeelSafe does not show. FeelSafe names its tariff “QEXPYC 3 2024/B” or “/S by UNIQA”, and its December 2025 terms title it “Expatriates Gold” (feelsafe.at). The City of Vienna lists these UNIQA tariffs for residence permits: “Privat rundum” (general and special class), “Expatriates Gold” (versions 3 2026/B and 3 2026/S), “Expatriates Platin” and “Expatriates Exclusive”, with the note “Jeweils erforderliche Zusatzerklärung”, meaning an extra declaration is required in each case (wien.gv.at). Whether FeelSafe’s 2024 version is treated as the listed 2026 version, and whether FeelSafe sends the declaration, was not stated on the pages we read.

Which insurers are on Vienna’s MA 35 list, including Allianz?

Vienna’s MA 35 page names 11 health insurers for residence permits, including Care Concept AG and UNIQA but not FeelSafe (wien.gv.at, no date on the page, checked 30 October 2026); the table shows them in alphabetical order. Allianz health insurance in Austria appears twice, as Allianz Elementar Versicherungs-AG and Allianz Worldwide Care.

Insurers named on Vienna’s MA 35 page (source: wien.gv.at, no date on the page; checked 30 October 2026; information only; FeelSafe is not named)
#Insurer as named by wien.gv.at
1Aetna Insurance Company
2Allianz Elementar Versicherungs-AG
3Allianz Worldwide Care
4Care Concept AG
5Cigna
6DONAU-Versicherung
7Expat & Co
8Generali
9INTER Krankenversicherung AG
10UNIQA
11Wiener Städtische

Care Concept AG is on Vienna's MA 35 list: unlimited Care Austria tariffs need no extra declaration, 364-day ones do (checked 30 October 2026). Being on this page is about Vienna’s MA 35. Other authorities publish their own lists or none. The office itself is explained on MA 35 Vienna in English, and the legal rule for all permits on health insurance for a residence permit.

How do the contract terms of FeelSafe and Care Austria differ?

FeelSafe states a general contract time of 3 years with monthly cancellation only for listed reasons (feelsafe.at/cancel, checked 30 October 2026). Care Austria unlimited has a 1-year minimum term, and after that it can be cancelled only to 31 December with one month’s notice (AVB § 3).

Ending the contract: what each provider publishes (sources: Care Austria AVB § 3; feelsafe.at/cancel; wien.gv.at; checked 30 October 2026)
SituationCare Austria (unlimited)FeelSafe
Normal cancellationFirst after 1 year, then to the end of each insurance year (31 December) with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3)General contract time 3 years; continues until you cancel
Permit refusedNot stated in our sources; withdrawal without reasons within 14 days, counted from taking out the contract and receiving its documentsListed as a valid reason for monthly cancellation
Leaving AustriaContract ends when you leave Austria for good or receive an unlimited residence permit (AVB § 6)Valid reason if leaving for more than 6 months
Job with employer insurancePeople subject to compulsory ÖGK insurance (§ 4 ASVG) are not insurable (AVB § 1); a job gives ÖGK cover only if it is subject to compulsory insurance, and a marginal job up to €551.10 a month (2026, ÖGK) gives accident insurance only; how a running contract ends: ask Care Concept AGValid reason; “You HAVE to cancel as soon as you are health insured by your employer”
Switching to another provider or the ÖGKAfter the 1-year minimum, only to 31 December with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3)Listed as not a valid early reason
Permanent residence (Daueraufenthalt EU)Ends automatically (wien.gv.at); also with another unlimited permit (AVB § 6)Not stated

What can you check for any residence-permit insurance?

For any residence-permit insurance you can check six published facts before you sign. They are the price for your age, any extra declaration, the minimum term, waiting periods, pre-existing conditions and payment rules. This list applies to both products and is not a ranking.

Students can read the permit rules on student residence permit and study in Austria. An overview of public and private options is on health insurance in Austria.

Worked example: what each provider publishes for a 28-year-old master’s student

Illustrative example: Ana, 28, starts a master’s programme in Vienna and needs insurance for her first student permit. From Care Austria’s published table she can read her price directly: Care Austria Education unlimited, €56 a month in 2026, with a 1-year minimum term and cancellation only to 31 December (AVB § 3), so at least €672 in the first year; no extra MA 35 declaration. From FeelSafe’s homepage she sees FeelSafe Students at €77.75 a month with the note “Price depends on age”; her own price appears only after she enters her date of birth on the product page, and the contract time is 3 years with the listed cancellation reasons. For both, she asks in writing about any pre-existing condition and keeps the answers. The choice is hers; this page does not suggest one.

If you decide on Care Austria

  • Published prices by age band: €56 (Education, 12–35, unlimited) to €510 (Standard, 65–74, unlimited), 2026, each with a 1-year minimum term (AVB § 3); unlimited Standard prices rise on 1 January 2028 (AVB § 5)
  • Care Concept AG is on Vienna's MA 35 list: unlimited Care Austria tariffs need no extra declaration, 364-day ones do (checked 30 October 2026)

Sold by Care Concept AG; insurer HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG). Read the full plan and limits first.

Care Austria application checklist

Go to Care Concept’s application

We earn a commission only on Care Austria, at no extra cost to you; we receive nothing from FeelSafe (how we are paid).

Frequently asked questions

Which insurance company is behind FeelSafe?

FeelSafe’s insurer is UNIQA. FeelSafe’s product pages state: “The insurance is provided by UNIQA”, and name the tariffs “QEXPYC 3 2024/B by UNIQA” (Students, Academics, Free movers) and “QEXPYC 3 2024/S by UNIQA” (Students Premium, 35+); the December 2025 terms call the tariff “Expatriates Gold” (feelsafe.at, checked 30 October 2026). For comparison: Care Austria is sold by Care Concept AG, and its insurer is HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG) (Care Austria AVB).

Can I cancel FeelSafe before the 3-year contract time ends?

Yes, FeelSafe can be cancelled before the 3 years end, but only for valid reasons such as those it lists: its cancellation page says “The general contract time is 3 years”, with monthly cancellation if, for example, the permit is refused, you leave Austria for more than 6 months, your status ends, an employer insures you, or you become co-insured (FeelSafe’s list). “Switching to a different provider (including ÖGK)” is listed as not a valid reason (feelsafe.at/cancel, checked 30 October 2026). Care Austria unlimited, for comparison, can be cancelled ordinarily only after 1 year and only to the end of an insurance year (31 December), with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3).

Is FeelSafe on the MA 35 list of health insurers in Vienna?

The City of Vienna’s page does not name FeelSafe; it names UNIQA, one of 11 insurers, and lists UNIQA tariffs including “Expatriates Gold” in the versions QEXPYA/QEXPYB/QEXPYC “3 2026/B” and “3 2026/S”, each with a required extra declaration (wien.gv.at, checked 30 October 2026). FeelSafe names its tariff “QEXPYC 3 2024/B” or “2024/S” and states that it is valid for MA 35 visa and residence permits. Whether these are the listed versions and whether the declaration comes with the policy we could not find — ask FeelSafe. On the same page, Care Austria and Care Austria Education (the unlimited tariffs) need no extra declaration, the 364-day tariffs do.

Is there a FeelSafe health insurance for people over 35?

Yes, FeelSafe sells FeelSafe 35+, shown on its homepage at €217.61 a month with the note “Price depends on age”, for students, researchers, lecturers, au-pairs, volunteers, job seekers and trainees over 35; the product page says “Maximum age: 65” (feelsafe.at, checked 30 October 2026). Care Austria publishes fixed bands for Standard unlimited: €155 (0–49), €222 (50–64) and €510 (65–74, Care Concept’s label), 2026 prices, each with a 1-year minimum term (AVB § 3); these Standard prices rise on 1 January 2028 to €187, €268 and €617 (AVB § 5).

Do FeelSafe and Care Austria have waiting periods?

FeelSafe and Care Austria both have special waiting periods of 8 months. FeelSafe’s terms (December 2025) say “The general waiting period does not apply”; the special waiting period of 8 months covers dental services (except pain relief and first aid after accidents) and childbirth and pregnancy (feelsafe.at terms PDF). Care Austria has a general waiting period of 31 days — waived if you buy before travelling, within 31 days of entry or without a gap after comparable earlier cover, and for accidents after cover starts — and 8 months for childbirth and dental prosthetics; these waivers do not apply to the 8-month waits (AVB § 7); the AVB § 15 general declaration waives waiting periods that do not fit ÖGK-level cover in Austria, but Care Concept AG has not confirmed to us how that applies here, so ask it in writing before you apply.

What is the minimum term of a Care Austria unlimited policy?

One year: an unlimited Care Austria policy can be cancelled ordinarily only after one year of insurance and only to the end of an insurance year (31 December), with one month’s notice (AVB § 3). The contract ends when you leave Austria for good, and it ends when you are granted Daueraufenthalt EU (wien.gv.at) or another unlimited residence permit (AVB § 6). The 364-day tariffs run up to 364 days and need an extra MA 35 declaration.

Official sources and provider documents

  • City of Vienna (MA 35): health insurance for residence permits, with the insurer list, UNIQA tariffs and Care Concept declarations (no date on the page, checked 30 October 2026)
  • BMI: residence and health insurance, stating that travel insurance is not sufficient for national residence titles (exceptions: Red-White-Red Card application with travel cover well above €30,000 incl. rescue and return costs; first student permit: OeAD statement on ÖGK student insurance plus travel insurance until ÖGK cover starts)
  • Care Concept: Care Austria tariff page and Care Austria policy terms (AVB), read 30 October 2026
  • FeelSafe (provider documents, cited as text): homepage feelsafe.at; product pages “students-health-insurance” and “35-health-insurance”; cancellation policy feelsafe.at/cancel; “Terms and Conditions of FeelSafe Students Health Insurance” and “… 35+ Health Insurance incl. Private Hospital” (German & English, December 2025), read 30 October 2026

Our editorial standards and about this site pages explain how we work. This page lists published facts for information only; it is not insurance, legal or immigration advice and makes no recommendation. Prices and terms can change — check the provider’s current documents before you sign. We earn a commission only on Care Austria, from Care Concept AG, at no extra cost to you (affiliate disclosure).

Care Austria: prices and limits

If you decide on Care Austria, check its published price for your age band and the 1-year minimum term first. We earn a commission only on Care Austria; we receive nothing from FeelSafe.

Referral link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (how we are paid).