Austria visa from Nigeria 2026: study, work, where to apply and health insurance

Quick answer

For an Austria visa from Nigeria in 2026, the Austrian Embassy Abuja is responsible. Schengen visas go through VFS Global in Abuja or Lagos; work, study and settlement permits are, as a rule, filed in person in Abuja after VFS verification (bmeia.gv.at). A first permit costs €218 and needs all-risk cover; travel insurance counts only under two narrow exceptions (RWR-card application and first student permit, explained below). As of 2 November 2026 consular services are suspended after an Ebola case.

As of 30 October 2026: the Austrian Embassy Abuja is responsible for Nigeria. VFS Global in Abuja and Lagos takes the Schengen visas, while residence permits are, as a rule, filed in person at the embassy. The €218 permit fee is paid in cash in naira at the counter, and the embassy never asks for pre-payment or a transfer; VFS verification fees are a separate matter and go to VFS by POS or transfer. Public consular services are suspended after an Ebola case in Abuja (embassy notice, re-checked 2 November 2026). All of this comes from the embassy’s pages on bmeia.gv.at.
Students 12–35, unlimited: €56/month (1-year minimum term, AVB § 3)Under 50, unlimited: €155/month (1-year minimum term, AVB § 3)Students 12–35, 364-day tariff, extra MA 35 declaration: €51/month

These are 2026 Care Austria prices for residence permits. The tariffs are not travel insurance for a visa C or D, because cover cannot start before entry into Austria. For the unlimited tariffs, ordinary cancellation comes only after 1 year, and then only to 31 December with 1 month’s notice (AVB § 3); the unlimited Standard tariff rises from 2028 per the policy terms. The 364-day tariff needs an extra declaration for Vienna’s MA 35.

Which Austria visa from Nigeria do you need?

Nigerians need a Schengen visa C for up to 90 days, a visa D for 91 days to six months and a residence permit for anything longer; short Schengen visas run mostly through the VFS centres in Abuja and Lagos. The Abuja embassy states that “an extension of a D visa in Austria is not possible” and that longer stays need a residence permit (Embassy Abuja: visa). Nigerians also need an airport transit visa if they only change planes in Austria. Find your situation in the boxes below; each one leads to its own section.

Visit, business, short course (up to 90 days)

Visa C at VFS Abuja or Lagos; travel insurance of at least €30,000; fee €90 for adults.

The section on where to apply covers both VFS centres.

Bachelor’s, master’s or PhD

Residence Permit – Student, as a rule in person in Abuja, after verification and legalisation of your certificates.

Read the student visa requirements next.

Job offer

Red-White-Red Card or EU Blue Card; the job seeker visa only with at least 70 points.

Each route is set out under work visa from Nigeria.

Spouse, parents, retirement

Spouses on their own permit; retirees and, as a rule, parents of a non-EU resident through the quota settlement permit (parents or parents-in-law whom an Austrian, EEA or Swiss citizen in Austria (or an Austrian's spouse) actually supports have quota-free routes); the 2027 codes are issued from 2 November 2026 (how the quota booking works).

Spouses and parents are covered in moving with family.

Austria visa from Nigeria in 10 official facts

Austria visa and residence permit from Nigeria: official facts, 2026 (Embassy Abuja, migration.gv.at, BMI; checked 30 October 2026)
FactWhat the source saysSource
Competent embassyAustrian Embassy Abuja, 9 Usuma Street, Maitama; appointments onlyEmbassy Abuja
Status (2 November 2026)Public consular services suspended until further notice after an Ebola case in AbujaEmbassy Abuja notice
Schengen visasMostly through VFS Global in Abuja and Lagos; file at least 15 working days before departurebmeia.gv.at: how to apply
Residence permitsIn person at the embassy; “not possible” through an external service providersettlement and residence
FeesPermit €218 (permanent €275); visa C €90 (€45 aged 6–12, free under 6), visa D €195 from age 6 (€97 under 6)settlement, visa
How you payIn cash at the embassy counter, in naira; the embassy never asks for pre-payment or a transferEmbassy Abuja, how to apply
TransitAirport transit visa (visa A) needed by Nigerian citizensEmbassy Abuja: visa
DocumentsVerification by appointment at VFS Abuja or Lagos, then legalisation; Ministry of Foreign Affairs firstbmeia.gv.at: legalisation
Quota 2027Pre-registration codes 2–8 November 2026; appointments 2–9 December 2026quota booking page
Insurance for permitsAll-risk cover that pays in Austria; travel insurance “in any case not sufficient” (Red-White-Red Card filing: travel cover “well above €30,000” incl. rescue and return costs accepted; first student permit: travel cover until ÖGK student insurance starts, with a written statement — ask the authority)§ 11 NAG, bmi.gv.at, FAQ, OeAD

Three figures are worth quoting. A first Austrian residence permit costs €218 at the Austrian Embassy Abuja, paid in cash in naira (bmeia.gv.at, 2026). A Schengen visa C costs €90 and a visa D €195 for adults, less for children (Embassy Abuja, 2026). A student under 24 must show €722.58 a month for 12 months (OeAD, 2026). Which embassy handles which country is explained on Austrian embassy visa application.

Is the Austrian Embassy in Abuja open right now?

Public consular services at the Austrian Embassy in Abuja are suspended as of 2 November 2026 (re-checked). The embassy’s home page says “Due to a case of Ebola in Abuja, consular services for the public at the Austrian Embassy in Abuja are suspended until further notice” (bmeia.gv.at). We found no date and no reopening date on the notice. If you have a residence-permit appointment, check the embassy page and any message sent with your booking before travelling. Do not use the urgent line for visa or permit enquiries, because the embassy reserves it for consular emergencies of Austrian citizens. Schengen visas and document verification run through VFS and are organised separately, so check VFS for their status.

Fraud warnings from the Austrian Embassy Abuja. Fake e-mails with embassy logos circulate, for example from addresses ending in “@bmeia.OR.at”; real e-mails end in “@bmeia.gv.at”. Certificates called “CNCIR” or “ExRPV” are not issued by the embassy. The embassy also states that “The Embassy does not ask for pre-payment or payment via transfer”. Fees are paid in cash at its counter, against a receipt with a serial number and signature (Embassy Abuja). Anyone who asks you to transfer a “visa fee” in advance is not the embassy (the VFS document-verification fee is paid to VFS, see below).

Where do you apply from Nigeria, at VFS Abuja, VFS Lagos or the embassy?

Nigerians file short visas and document verification at VFS in Abuja or Lagos, and first residence permits, as a rule, at the embassy in Abuja. Nigerians have an Austrian embassy in their own country. Applicants from Nepal or Sri Lanka must travel to New Delhi (Austria visa from Nepal, Austria student visa from Sri Lanka), and Pakistan has its own embassy in Islamabad (Austria visa from Pakistan). Filing at the embassy is the rule for first permits (§ 21 (1) NAG); § 21 (2) NAG lets, for example, students and EU Blue Card applicants (Z 6) and Red-White-Red Card applicants (Z 7) file in Austria after lawful entry and during their lawful stay. For students and Blue Card applicants this gives no right to stay beyond the visa, so if no decision comes in time, you leave and wait abroad (§ 21 (6); § 21 NAG). An employer can also file a Red-White-Red Card application in Austria (migration.gv.at).

Where Nigerian applicants file, by application type, 2026 (Austrian Embassy Abuja pages; checked 30 October 2026)
ApplicationWhere you fileHow to bookWho decides
Visa C (visit, business, up to 90 days)VFS Global, Abuja or LagosVFS appointmentEmbassy Abuja
Visa D (91 days to 6 months)Not stated separately; the visa D form is on the embassy’s how-to-apply pageAsk the embassy which channel appliesEmbassy Abuja
Residence Permit – Student, Red-White-Red Card, settlement permitIn person at the embassy in AbujaEmbassy appointment by e-mail (public consular services suspended as of 2 November 2026)Residence authority in Austria (MA 35 in Vienna)
Verification of Nigerian documentsVFS Global, Abuja or LagosVFS verification appointmentEmbassy Abuja (result by e-mail)
Police certificate legalisationVFS Abuja (Wednesdays) or Lagos (Tuesdays), 9–11 amNo appointmentEmbassy Abuja

For visas the embassy asks for bank statements or payslips of the last three months, travel health insurance of at least €30,000 valid in the whole Schengen area, copies of earlier Schengen visas and, for family visits, an Austrian sponsorship declaration (EVE) whose number starts with “LOS” (how to apply). False or incomplete documents lead to refusal, and the visa fee is not refunded. Be careful with fees. The how-to-apply page still shows an older fee table, while the embassy’s settlement page lists €218 for a temporary permit from 1 January 2026, and in the end the amount at the counter decides. We found no official naira amounts and no VFS service fees on an Austrian government page. The full fee list is on Austria visa fees.

Every Nigerian certificate you file for a permit must first be legalised by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, then verified and legalised through VFS for the Austrian embassy; the embassy says all documents must be verified and legalised before a residence-permit application (Embassy Abuja). The verification step is specific to this embassy and takes time, so start it as soon as you have your admission or job offer.

The list follows Embassy Abuja: legalisation. The embassy warns of “longer waiting times for an appointment” and may check a document’s content in Nigeria at your expense. Incomplete sets are not accepted and need a new appointment. The full permit file is listed on Austria visa documents checklist.

What are the Austria student visa requirements for Nigeria?

The Austria student visa requirements for Nigeria are those of the “Residence Permit – Student” for every non-EU student: admission, funds for 12 months, accommodation, all-risk health insurance and the €218 fee; the authority decides within 90 days, plus 90 if documents must be added, and OeAD advises filing six months ahead if possible (OeAD). What is Nigeria-specific is the order: legalisation, VFS verification, then, as a rule, the in-person filing in Abuja (students who entered lawfully on a visa may, case by case, also file in Austria, § 21 (2) Z 6 NAG, OeAD, but this gives no right to stay beyond the visa, § 21 (6) NAG). The visa side is on Austria student visa, the permit on Austria student residence permit, choosing a university on study in Austria.

How to apply from Nigeria in six steps

  1. 1
    Choose by length of stay

    Trips of up to 90 days need a visa C, filed through VFS Abuja or Lagos. For a visa D, ask the Austrian Embassy Abuja which filing channel applies, because its pages do not state it separately. Stays of more than 6 months (degree, job, family, retirement) need a residence permit, as a rule filed in person at the embassy in Abuja.

  2. 2
    Get the purpose document

    University admission letter, a job offer for the Red-White-Red Card or Blue Card, or proof of income for a settlement permit.

  3. 3
    Legalise in Nigeria first

    Nigeria’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs legalises the originals; only then book the VFS verification appointment.

  4. 4
    Verification and legalisation via VFS

    Book an appointment at VFS Abuja or Lagos and wait for the embassy’s e-mail with the result. Then legalise, and translate afterwards.

  5. 5
    File the permit in Abuja

    Book the embassy appointment, file in person, pay the fee in cash in naira at the counter and get a receipt. The authority in Austria decides.

  6. 6
    Visa D, travel, register

    Once the permit is approved, you have 3 months to apply for the visa D. Then enter Austria, collect the permit card and register your address.

What does the first year cost a student from Nigeria?

The first year for a student from Nigeria means paying the €218 permit fee, tuition, document costs and insurance, and proving funds you keep. An under-24 student shows €8,670.96 (12 × €722.58, 2026); from 24 the funds rise to €15,700.68. Public universities charge non-EU students €726.72 per semester (2026); we found no official confirmation whether a fee waiver applies to Nigerian nationals, so ask your university.

Austria student visa from Nigeria: first-year cost, student under 24 (official amounts and Care Austria tariff 2026; checked 30 October 2026)
ItemAmountSource
Residence Permit – Student€218 (cash, naira, at the counter)Embassy Abuja
Funds to show (12 months, under 24)€8,670.96 (your own money, not a fee)OeAD
Tuition, public university, two semesters€1,453.44 (2 × €726.72)oesterreich.gv.at, studyinaustria.at
Visa D to enter after approvalUp to €195 (standard fee; whether charged for collecting an approved permit is not stated)Embassy Abuja
Health insurance, Care Austria Education unlimited€56 a month = €672 for the first 12 months (more if cover does not start on 1 January)Care Concept tariff page, AVB § 3
Alternative once resident: ÖGK student self-insurance€78.84 a monthoegk.at

VFS verification and legalisation fees, translations and the trip to Abuja are missing from the table, since we found no official figures for them. For living costs, see cost of living in Austria.

Which Austria work visa from Nigeria fits you?

An Austria work visa from Nigeria is, for stays over six months, a residence permit with labour market access, for example an employed Red-White-Red Card category or the EU Blue Card, which need a qualifying job offer (self-employed key workers and start-up founders follow separate RWR rules); the AMS checks the category's conditions, e.g. points, training and pay, before the residence authority decides (migration.gv.at). Without a job offer, only Very Highly Qualified Workers with at least 70 points can get the six-month job seeker visa, which does not allow work (migration.gv.at FAQ). Read on at Austria work visa, Red-White-Red Card or job seeker visa.

Routes from Nigeria to Austria: document, condition and insurance, 2026 (migration.gv.at, OeAD, Embassy Abuja; checked 30 October 2026)
RouteDocumentKey conditionInsurance for the application
Degree studiesResidence Permit – Student (€218)Admission; funds for 12 monthsAll-risk, pays in Austria
Skilled jobRed-White-Red Card (€218)Job offer, points, positive AMS checkAt filing, travel cover well above €30,000 incl. rescue and return is accepted (migration.gv.at FAQ); all-risk cover until employment subject to compulsory health insurance gives ÖGK cover from the first working day (not a marginal job at or below €551.10 a month, 2026)
Graduate job, high salaryEU Blue CardDegree; at least €55,678 gross a year (2026)All-risk cover until employment subject to compulsory health insurance gives ÖGK cover from the first working day (not a marginal job at or below €551.10 a month, 2026)
Job searchJob seeker visa (visa D, €195)Very Highly Qualified, at least 70 points (points calculator); no workThe official checklist names comprehensive travel insurance; migration.gv.at states that travel cover well above €30,000, including rescue and return, is accepted at application — confirm the policy with the embassy.
Spouse of a studentResidence Permit – Family CommunitySpouse at least 21; couple’s funds €2,064.12 a month (2026)Own all-risk proof
Parent of a non-EU resident, or retireeSettlement permit except gainful employment (quota as a rule; parents or parents-in-law whom an Austrian, EEA or Swiss citizen in Austria (or an Austrian's spouse) actually supports have quota-free routes)Income €2,616.78 single / €4,128.24 couple (spouses or registered partners living together) a month (2026) (base; + regular costs above €386.43); German A1; no workAll-risk, pays in Austria

Which routes are there for moving to Austria from Nigeria with your spouse or parents?

A spouse can follow on their own permit; retirees and, as a rule, parents of a non-EU resident need a settlement permit with a quota place (parents or parents-in-law whom an Austrian, EEA or Swiss citizen in Austria (or an Austrian's spouse) actually supports have quota-free routes), and the Abuja embassy has published the 2027 booking dates. The spouse of a student can apply for a “Residence Permit – Family Community” and must be at least 21 (OeAD); the spouse of a Red-White-Red Card or Blue Card holder can apply for the Red-White-Red Card plus. Parents are not family members under § 2 (1) Z 9 NAG, so as a rule they cannot use a non-EU child’s permit. The exception we found is § 46a (5) Z 2 and 3 NAG: parents of a recognised refugee, or of a minor with subsidiary protection, who was an unaccompanied minor when applying for protection. Read can I bring my parents to Austria? and family reunification in Austria for their options.

2027 quota appointments at the Abuja embassy (settlement permit except gainful employment). Pre-registration codes are issued “from 02.11.2026, 09:00 CET to 08.11.2026, 09:00 CET”; each applicant, including children, needs their own code, and the data cannot be changed afterwards. Appointments are booked from 2 December 2026, 13:00 CET, to 9 December 2026, 13:00 CET, with names spelled exactly as in the pre-registration; unused codes expire. The embassy adds: “An early received reservation code does not automatically secure an earlier appointment!” (bmeia.gv.at). The permit itself, income rules and quota are on Austria retirement visa and Niederlassungsbewilligung; migration.gv.at states the income rule.

Care Austria Standard unlimited for a relative from Nigeria: 2026 and from 1 January 2028 (Care Concept tariff page and AVB § 5, checked 30 October 2026)
Relative2026, per monthFrom 1 January 2028
Husband or wife under 50€155€187
Spouse or parent 50–64€222€268
Parent 65–74€510€617

The first price follows the calendar year in which cover starts; after that Care Austria counts age as the current calendar year minus the year of birth, so a parent born in 1960 counts as 66 in 2026; the next band applies from 1 January of the year the person turns 50 or 65 (AVB premium table). The minimum term is 1 year (AVB § 3). If a worker’s job is subject to compulsory insurance (not a marginal job), ÖGK co-insurance may replace private cover once the worker’s spouse lives in Austria.

Which health insurance works for a residence permit from Nigeria?

The travel policy a Nigerian visa application needs is not enough for the permit. You need a policy that covers all risks and pays in Austria. Health insurance “covering all risks” that is liable to pay in Austria is what the law asks for (§ 11 NAG), and the Interior Ministry says travel health insurance “is in any case not sufficient” (bmi.gv.at, our translation). The €30,000 travel cover is for visas, and for permits we found two exceptions. For a Red-White-Red Card, migration.gv.at says travel health insurance covering costs “well above € 30,000”, including rescue and return, is accepted at application (migration.gv.at FAQ). For a first student permit, OeAD says a written statement that ÖGK student insurance will be taken out after entry can be attached to the application, and travel health insurance is then sufficient only until that cover can start (OeAD); Vienna’s MA 35 page does not mention the statement, so ask your residence authority before you rely on it. We found no official statement by the Abuja embassy on any specific insurer, Nigerian or Austrian. The full rule is on health insurance for a residence permit, student options on student health insurance in Austria and prices for every age on Austria health insurance cost.

Health insurance from Nigeria by document: what works, monthly price 2026 (BMI, Embassy Abuja, Care Concept tariff page; checked 30 October 2026)
DocumentWhat it needsTravel policyCare Austria
Visa C or DTravel insurance, at least €30,000, whole Schengen areaYes, if it meets the minimumNo — cover cannot start before entry; not a travel policy
Student residence permitAll-risk, pays in AustriaNot sufficient on its own (BMI); for a first application OeAD allows travel insurance until ÖGK student insurance starts, with a written statement — ask the authorityEducation unlimited €56 (ages 12–35; min. 1 year, AVB § 3)
Spouse (Family Community permit)All-risk, pays in AustriaNot sufficientStandard unlimited €155 under 50 (min. 1 year)
Settlement permit, parent 65–74All-risk, pays in AustriaNot sufficientStandard unlimited €510 (min. 1 year)

Care Austria cover cannot start before you enter Austria, and you apply before the trip or within one year after entry (AVB), so a delay at the embassy does not cost you premiums in Nigeria. Care Concept AG is on Vienna's MA 35 list: unlimited Care Austria tariffs need no extra declaration, 364-day ones do (checked 30 October 2026) (wien.gv.at). Outside Vienna, no authority has confirmed to us whether it accepts a given policy, so ask the one handling your file. Care Austria’s insurer is HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG), and Care Concept AG sells it. Ask them in writing about pre-existing conditions before you apply.

A master’s student from Enugu, from admission letter to permit card

Illustrative example: Chidi, born in 2003, from Enugu, has a master’s admission from a public university in Graz; unlike applicants from Nepal or Bangladesh, he deals with Austria’s own embassy in Abuja. He is under 24 when he files, so he shows €8,670.96 for 12 months. He has his degree certificate and transcripts legalised by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, books a verification appointment at VFS Lagos, waits for the embassy’s positive e-mail, legalises and only then has the papers translated. He books the embassy appointment in Abuja, files in person and pays €218 in cash in naira.

For the permit he takes Care Austria Education unlimited at €56 a month. The first 12 months come to €672 (more if cover does not start on 1 January, AVB § 3), and cover cannot start before he enters Austria, nor before the premium is paid (AVB § 6). After approval he applies for the visa D within three months, flies to Vienna, collects his card in Graz and registers his address. Once the minimum term lets him cancel (AVB § 3), he could weigh it against ÖGK student self-insurance at €78.84 a month.

Health insurance for your permit file from Nigeria

  • In 2026 a student aged 12–35 pays €56 a month for Care Austria Education unlimited
  • For a spouse or anyone else under 50, Care Austria Standard unlimited is €155 a month (same year)
  • There is a minimum term of 1 year (AVB § 3), cover cannot start before entry, and it is no travel policy for a visa C or D
  • For students, the 364-day Education tariff (€51 a month) is an option only with an extra MA 35 declaration
  • Care Concept AG is on Vienna's MA 35 list: unlimited Care Austria tariffs need no extra declaration, 364-day ones do (checked 30 October 2026)

Behind the plan stand Care Concept AG (seller) and HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe (Advigon Versicherung AG) (insurer). Check the full plan and limits first, and ask about pre-existing conditions in writing before you apply.

Apply online: checklist first

Go to Care Concept’s application

Referral link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (how we are paid).

Frequently asked questions

Is there an Austrian embassy in Nigeria?

Yes, the Austrian Embassy is in Abuja, at 9 Usuma Street, Maitama district, and it also serves several neighbouring countries (bmeia.gv.at). It works by appointment only. Short Schengen visas are not filed at the embassy itself but at the VFS Global centres in Abuja and Lagos; residence permits, verification and legalisation appointments are booked through the embassy.

Are consular services at the Austrian Embassy in Abuja suspended?

As of 2 November 2026 (re-checked), yes: the embassy’s home page says “Due to a case of Ebola in Abuja, consular services for the public at the Austrian Embassy in Abuja are suspended until further notice” (bmeia.gv.at). The urgent-case phone line it names is reserved for consular emergencies of Austrian citizens — do not use it for visa or permit enquiries. We found neither a date nor a reopening date on the notice. Check the page again before you travel to Abuja for a residence-permit appointment, and keep the reference of any booked slot.

Where do Nigerians apply for an Austrian Schengen visa?

As a rule, Nigerians file a Schengen visa application at VFS Global: the embassy says that “Schengen (short-term) visa applications are mostly operated by the VFS Application Centres in Abuja and Lagos” (bmeia.gv.at: how to apply). You book there and file in person at least 15 working days before departure. A visa C is for up to 90 days in 180; a visa D for 91 days to six months. Anything longer — a degree, a job, family — is a residence permit, as a rule filed in person at the embassy in Abuja after an appointment (§ 21 NAG; exceptions on this page).

What are the Austria student visa requirements for Nigeria?

For a full degree you need the “Residence Permit – Student”: university admission, funds of €722.58 a month under 24 or €1,308.39 from 24 for 12 months (2026; base; more if regular costs such as rent exceed €386.43, § 11 (5) NAG), accommodation, all-risk health insurance that pays in Austria and the €218 fee (OeAD). From Nigeria two steps come first: every document must be verified and legalised through VFS in Abuja or Lagos, and you file in person at the embassy in Abuja. Travel insurance alone is not enough for the permit; OeAD names one option for a first student permit — a written statement that ÖGK student insurance will be taken out after entry, with travel insurance until then (OeAD; ask your residence authority).

Do Nigerians need an airport transit visa for Austria?

Yes, Nigeria is on the list of nationalities that need an airport transit visa (visa A) to stay in the transit zone of an Austrian airport (Embassy Abuja: visa). This matters if you fly to another country via Vienna. If you are travelling to Austria itself, your visa C or visa D covers the entry.

How do Nigerian parents or retirees get a 2027 quota appointment in Abuja?

Nigerian parents or retirees first need a pre-registration code. For the settlement permit “except gainful employment” for 2027, the embassy issues codes “from 02.11.2026, 09:00 CET to 08.11.2026, 09:00 CET”, one per applicant including children; appointments are then booked from 2 to 9 December 2026, 13:00 CET, with the same spelling of the names (bmeia.gv.at: quota booking). An early code does not mean an earlier appointment, and the code is not valid for other permits. The 2026 income rule is €2,616.78 a month for a single person (base; more if regular costs such as rent exceed €386.43, § 11 (5) NAG). The quota applies to retirees and, as a rule, to parents of a non-EU resident; parents or parents-in-law whom an Austrian, EEA or Swiss citizen in Austria (or an Austrian's spouse) actually supports have quota-free routes.

Official sources

Our method is described under editorial standards and about this site. Visa D rules in general are on Austria visa D, and country guides also cover India and Bangladesh. This page is general information, not legal or immigration advice; the embassy and the residence authority decide. Referral links may earn us a commission from Care Concept AG at no extra cost to you (affiliate disclosure).

Permit health insurance from Nigeria

For a family or settlement permit, travel insurance is not enough; for a first student permit it bridges only until ÖGK student cover starts (OeAD; ask your authority). Check Care Austria’s price, its 1-year minimum term and whether your authority accepts it — and check the embassy’s current status before you book Abuja.

Referral link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (how we are paid).